Class 5A All-State Football Team

Posted/updated on: August 26, 2010 at 7:59 am

Print This Print This

JTJJohnsonwebjtgerronjtdorseySomewhat snubbed, the Rose City schools only had three players receive honorable mention when the AP Class 5A All-State football team was released Thursday.  John Tyler Quarterback Jeremy Johnson, Offensive Tackle Gerron Anthony, and Defensive tackle Ashton Dorsey were the honorees.

Below is the 2009 Texas Class 5A All-State high school football team, as voted on by The Associated Press Sports Editors based on regular-season performance. Players are listed in alphabetical order at each position.

District 11-5A players are listed in Bold.



– DREW CARROLL, Abilene, Sr. — 17 pancakes, graded 95 percent, 0 sacks allowed; 3-year starter

– ISIKELI COCKER, Euless Trinity, Sr. — Team averaged 295 rushing yards, 407 total yards and 38.9 points per game

– DOMINIC ESPINOSA, Cedar Park, Sr. — Graded 90 percent, 173 knockdowns; offense averaged 425 ypg

– ADAM SHEAD, Cedar Hill, Sr. — Led line for team that averaged 313 rushing ypg, 127 passing ypg

EVAN WASHINGTON, DeSoto, Sr. — Graded 96 percent, no sacks allowed, 83 pancakes in 2nd season of football


– MIKE DAVIS, Dallas Skyline, Sr. — 28-721 receiving, 13 TDs in only eight games; 9-5A offensive MVP

– GERARD SHILLOW, Round Rock Stony Point, Sr. — 56-1,223 receiving, 10 TDs


– DERIC DAVIS, Arlington Bowie, Sr. — 212-for-319 passing, 3,100 yards, 39 TDs, 2 INTs; 640 rushing yards, 7 TDs


– JA’TERIAN DOUGLAS, Arlington Lamar, Sr. — 1,776 yards, 25 TDs; 150 points

– KC NLEMCHI, Katy Cinco Ranch, Jr. — 1,735 yards, 20 TDs; 2 receiving TDs; 1 300-plus game

– HERSCHEL SIMS, Abilene, Jr. — 1,335 yards, 18 TDs; 257 receiving yards, 4 TDs; 3 KO return TDs; 3-5A offensive MVP


– CADE FOSTER, Southlake Carroll, Sr. — 61 PATs (finished as state’s career leader), 10 FGs, 91 points

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Deric Davis, Arlington Bowie



– JACKSON JEFFCOAT, Plano West, Sr. — 67 solo tackles, 20 assists, 11 TFL, 22 QB pressures, 8.5 sacks, 2 INTs (1 TD), 2 blocked kicks

– DALLAS MCCLARTY, League City Clear Springs, Soph. — 100 tackles, 18 TFL, 7 sacks, 7 QB pressures, 3 fumbles recovered, 2 fumbles caused

– DOMINGO RINCON, Harlingen, Sr. — 65 tackles (33 solo), 23 sacks, 27 QB pressures, 5 fumbles caused, 2 TDs (fumble, INT)

– REGGIE WILSON, Haltom City, Sr. — 60 tackles, 25 TFL, 9 sacks, 10 QB pressures, 3 fumbles caused, 2 fumbles recovered, 3-5A defensive MVP


– ZAK AOSSEY, Pflugerville Connally, Sr. — 151 tackles, 5 fumbles caused, 3 INTs, 10 TFL, 4 sacks, 7 pass breakups

– BRYCE HAGER, Austin Westlake, Sr. — 117 tackles, 12 TFL, 6 sacks, 4 QB pressures, 7 pass breakups

– COREY NELSON, Dallas Skyline, Sr. — 120 tackles, 19 TFL, 10 sacks, 2 blocked FGs, 2 blocked PATs, 9-5A defensive MVP


– BRYCE CALLAHAN, Cypress Woods, Sr. — 120 tackles (80 solo), 6 INTs, 10 pass breakups, 28-yard punt return average

– JERRY CAVAZOS, Mission Sharyland, Sr. — 7 INTs, 51 tackles, 9 pass breakups; 2 fumbles caused, 2 fumbles recovered

– ELISHA OLABODE, Cedar Hill, Sr. — 61 tackles, 4 INTs, 8 TFL, 5 return TDs (108-yard missed FG return, 1 INT, 3 punt)

– ZACH VELLIQUETTE, Katy Cinco Ranch, Sr. — 7 INTs, 11 pass breakups, allowed 1 TD


CLARK GADDIS, Mesquite, Sr. — 42.8-yard average on 46 punts, 14 inside 10

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Corey Nelson, Dallas Skyline



– Robert Chapman, SA Clark, Sr.; Marcus Hutchins, DeSoto, Jr.; Luke Joeckel, Arlington, Sr.; Cedric Ogbuehi, Allen, Sr.; Phillip Reed, Austin Westlake, Sr.


– Deche Milburn, League City Clear Springs, Sr.; Darius Terrell, DeSoto, Sr.


– Jamal Turner, Arlington Sam Houston, Jr.


– Sam Brown, EP Coronado, Jr.; Charles Coleman, CC Carroll, Sr.; Lache Seastruck, Temple, Sr.


– Austin Sasser, Amarillo, Sr.



– Dartwan Bush, Brazoswood, Sr.; James Castleman, Amarillo, Jr.; Alex Mills, Arlington Martin, Sr.; Cameron Nwosu, Klein Forest, Sr.


– Collin Garrett, Beaumont West Brook, Jr.; Trevon Randle, League City Clear Springs, Jr.; Cody Rogers, SA Brandeis, Sr.


– Kyle Davis, SA Reagan, Sr.; Sam Holl, Katy, Sr.; Sam Richardson, League City Clear Springs, Jr.; Kevin White, Round Rock Stony Point, Sr.


– Grant Pierce, Plano, Jr.

HONORABLE MENTION OFFENSE (East Texas & District 11-5A Players):

LINEMEN: Gerron Anthony, John Tyler.

QUARTERBACKS: Jeremy Johnson, John Tyler; Ryan Polite, DeSoto.

RUNNING BACKS: Marcus Murphy, DeSoto.

HONORABLE MENTION DEFENSE (East Texas & District 11-5A Players):

LINEMEN: Marcus Bagley, North Mesquite; Ashton Dorsey, John Tyler.

BACKS: A.J. White, DeSoto.

Print This Print This

Find an Advertiser

Support the folks that support us!
List of Current Advertisers!


Listen Live!

KTBB - Listen Now

On now:

ESPN 92.1FM - Listen Now

On now: